Simon Griffiths

Q. Simon, you are Roland UK’s FD, how did you get where you are today?

Not on a bike that’s for certain! I originally qualified as an accountant and then became a real life “Dragon” when I became a venture capital investor. I then realised it was time to get a real job and became FD of a mobile phone business. When the Roland job came up and I met the Roland people I knew it was the place for me. Fortunately they agreed (?) – well they did then anyway – not sure about now.

Q. What is your favourite quality about yourself?

My persistence/stamina in getting a job done

Q. What is your least favourite quality about yourself?

Sometimes I can be just a little too competitive

Q. Do you play any instruments, which ones?

None whatsoever, which makes you feel a little inadequate working for Roland.

Q. How do you normally keep fit?

Normally is not a word I would use about me and keeping fit. I go through fits and starts but when I am exercising it will involve a bit of gym and some occasional football

Q. What is your claim to fame?

I’m an accountant – we don’t do interesting things (apart from this). Seriously though I did play briefly for Portsmouth reserves in 1988

Q. What was your favourite outdoor activity as a child?

Undoubtedly footie. Jumpers for goal posts, playing until dark and all that ……

Q. What are your favourite and least favourite types of music?

I really like electronic/techno house music particularly The Prodigy. I least like classical/opera.

Q. What are your favourite and least favourite foods?

Chicken vindaloo all the way, which certainly gives you a “boost” on the bike.

Q. Who taught you to ride a bike?

I guess myself, with a little guidance from my father

Q. Who is your favourite sports personality and why?

If pushed as a Liverpool fan would have to say Stevie G. Once when asked what his favourite cheese was he responded “melted”. Don’t give up the day job Steve!

Q. Who is your favourite musician/artist/band?

The Prodigy

Q. Which people have most influenced your life and why?

Although only recently, my two little boys.

Q. What is something that you are really proud of and why?

I have renovated two properties from a complete state of disrepair.

Q. What do you do to unwind and relax?

Footie, family, drink, curry – I have but simple needs.

Q. What is your favourite place?

New Quay, West Wales

Q. When people look back at your life, how do you want to be remembered?

As someone who enjoyed a good laugh!